Worship My Organ

Every year, once a year for the past four years, a collection of musicians gather in town for Jazz Fest and consolidate at the Blue Nile on Frenchmen Street for one night to entertain music loving festival goers with an extended jam session. They do not practice, they do not release albums, but for one night a year they are “Worship My Organ”.

It is an interesting combination of a saxophone (Eric Walton aka Skerik), two Hammond B3 organs (Marco Benevento and Robert Walter), drums (Adam Deitch) and DJ Logic that creates a unique jazzy, funky house type sound. It is nothing like the brass band based jazz I have grown so familiar with in New Orleans, it is closer to the original jazz jams in that you are never quite sure where the next beat is going to take you. Its the sort of sharp sound that breaks through the chains of conformity and dumps you in a tumultuous and unpredictable river, forcing you to relax and let your body roll with the ebb and flow.

Fortunately I have recently befriended the sound technician at the Blue Nile and I was able to bypass the queue stretching down the street and avoid the $40 cover charge to get in. After a long day on my feet, dancing in the sun at Jazz Fest, I was able to seek refuge in the sound booth from the bouncing crowed.

I had never seen such a line to a sold out gig on Frenchmen St, nor had I ever heard of a band that doesn’t practice and performs together only once a year, and the sound that they produced was also entirely new to me. But that, my friends, is just another reason why I love this incredible city: it is full of surprises.

Worship My Organ

3 thoughts on “Worship My Organ

Leave a Reply

